Hood

After work last night I packed up my camera and went for a stroll around my hood. I really don’t have to walk very far to find interesting photographic opportunities.

This first image is of the “World Building”, also known as the “Sun Tower” and at one time the “Bekins Building”. I am fascinated by this building and plan to have a blog dedicated to it and it’s incredible history in the near future.

sun_tower1

The City of Vancouver Archives is an amazing resource. The image below was taken in 1912 as the building neared completion. Check out their website and do a search for your own hood, you may be surprised by what you find.

A51142

A few more modern day World Building images.

sun_tower3
sun_tower2

Other random shots in and around my neighbourhood.

johhny_bike

shoe_alley

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Hood”

  1. cour t e nay Says:

    Jay your so talented….I maybe need a photo for my living room

Leave a Reply

